Sharpen up your fingers, it’s live tweeting time!

I'll be looking over your virtual shoulder through the hashtag #TxWes3399

I’ll be looking over your virtual shoulder through the hashtag #TxWes3399

Okay class. Tomorrow, Wednesday, Sept. 4, you will do your first exercise in live tweeting. You will live tweet the class. How fun is that?

Use the hashtag #txwes3399 at the end of each tweet before posting. You can use your laptop, one of the computers in the lab, your phone or any tablet. It’s up to you. Remember, if you want to use something other than a computer, you will need to have Twitter as an app for ease of use.

So ready, set, go! Looking forward to seeing what you’ve got!

11 thoughts on “Sharpen up your fingers, it’s live tweeting time!

  1. When it comes to Robin J. Phillips branding is everything. It is getting to know who you are, what you stand for, and what are your goals. You should be able to answer all of these and know who you are in order for other people to know you as well. Like she said people already have an image of you whether you like it or not. So its in our best interest to make sure we have a good one. Looking through her slide show she did for a conference with woman in sports you can find all the important ways to build your own brand.Branding for Journalists by Robin J. Phillips is the article we went over in class but it is good idea to go through it alone and really understand the importance of branding.

  2. After reading The Beginners Guide to Twitter on Mashable, it gives a great quick introduction to Twitter. Not saying I am an expert but I could utilize this great social media outlet more frequent. The live tweet in class was a great exercise.

    One of the great points that I liked was crafting your own voice on Twitter. But you don’t want to become lost in the tweet feeds. This is where your choice of style and values come into play. I use humor in my tweets, my humor is quick witted and sometimes dry but easily understood by most. Once you have your voice, maintain, keep your reputation. No one likes a bi-polar tweeter.

  3. How fun was this! I loved tweeting in class because it is teaching me now to use Twitter the right way. It is also showing me how I am going to tweet during a game. You don’t want to miss a home run because your face was in your phone. That would defeat the whole purpose. I am thinking if your potential employers will go your tweets because what if you have had a twitter since you were young and dumb. I guess you should never tweet something that you wouldn’t want to A. Let your mother see or B. Something that will be on a highway billboard. I will continue to learn and grow in this class.

  4. It is a lot of fun to tweet but you have to be careful what you say on social media networks. The reason that is because you never know who can see it and once something is online it stays online. For the future you have to learn to filter your tweets in order to for the future not to have situations where your old social networks come up and can damage your brand.

  5. Live tweeting was so much fun! Starting off, I didn’t really know what to tweet. But once I got the hang of it, I was tweeting everything! I am not usually one to really tweet/update a lot, mostly because I don’t know what to say. This was a way for me to update one material I thought was exciting. After reading my tweets, and everyone elses, I thought it was very interesting seeing everyone’s different styles. We were all tweeting over the same exact lecture, but everyone had different views and different personalities within their tweets.

  6. Tweeting can be fun but at the same time you have to protect your name because once you press that enter or send button you can not take it back. So therefore i advise any and everyone to be careful what you post or tweet.

  7. I love to tweet.. tweeting very fun. but sometimes tweeting can go wrong when you feel like you what to tweet what’s on your mind and that sometimes gets out of hand. so if you tweet about something make sure its not something u gone regret tweeting.

  8. I was not here for our first live tweeting event, but I did find the hashtag on twitter. I think as a reporter following live tweeting would be a good way to get leads if you are in a time crunch.

Leave a Reply

